U.S. Custom Harvesters, Inc.
Gehling Auction

Kansas Ag News Headlines
Safe Kids Kansas Honors Advocates for Life-Saving Work
Kansas Ag Connection - 12/07/2017

Safe Kids Kansas presented its annual awards in a ceremony Wednesday at the Kansas Soybean Association in Topeka. Awards include the prestigious Dr. Dennis Cooley Award of Excellence, named in honor of pediatrician Dr. Dennis Cooley of Topeka. This year's Cooley Award was presented to Jim Hanni, recently retired from AAA Allied Group.

Jim Hanni has been an advocate for traffic safety throughout his career at AAA Kansas, also known as AAA Allied Group. He has worked with countless partners in Kansas and across the Nation to impact the safety of Kansans who share our roads. Hanni has supported crossing guard programs, the Driver Improvement Program, Car Fit program for older drivers and advocated for AAA to provide traffic safety funding for resources and education around the state. In addition, he provided advocacy and leadership that led to the successful passage of the Kansas Booster Seat law (2006), Graduated Drivers Licensing law (2010), and most recently, the increase in fines for primary seat belt enforcement which also supports the S.A.F.E. (Seatbelts Are For Everyone) program to encourage teens to buckle up, reduce distractions and be safer drivers.

"Jim's vision has always been to create a culture of safety in Kansas," said Cherie Sage, State Director for Safe Kids Kansas. "His leadership in public education, programs and policy has made Kansas roadways safer for us all." We are honored to recognize Jim Hanni with the Dr. Dennis Cooley Award of Excellence.

Safe Kids Kansas also presented awards for Outstanding Partnership for Child Safety, Outstanding Coalition Organization, Local Coalition of the Year, and Service Recognition awards.

The Outstanding Partnership for Child Safety award was presented to two recipients, the Pilot Club of Shawnee Mission and the Topeka Shawnee County Public Library.

The Outstanding Coalition Organization award was presented The KIDS Network, Inc.

The Local Coalition of the Year award was presented to Safe Kids Shawnee County.

Service Recognition Awards was presented to Michelle Rutherford from Safe Kids Riley County and Riley County EMS, and Teresa Taylor with Safe Kids Shawnee County and Stormont Vail HealthCare.

For more information about Safe Kids, visit www.safekids.org and www.safekidskansas.org.

More from this state at:
Kansas Ag Connection

Roth Manufacturing
Copyright 2018 - USAgNet.com. All Rights Reserved.